3 Questions for Bee Things

My friends Jeff + Shay over at Bee Things are at it again…really, how do they manage all of their amazing-ness?  They are both super talented full-time graphic designers, AND collaborate to produce their own line of prints, raise two wonderful boys, write their own blog, have the coolest house ever…need I go on?  They’re incredible!  I get inspired and tired at the same time just thinking of all they do…

I was so glad that Shay agreed to answer a few questions about Bee Things for us!  Be sure to stop by the Jingle Bash this Saturday to see their work in person and say hi to Jeff + Shay.  If you don’t live near Dallas, see their work here.

SB:  How did you and Jeff decide to start Bee Things?  Where did the name come from?

Shay:  Well, we visited flatstock at SXSW a couple of years ago and really thought screen printing would be something we could enjoy doing on the side – and as a couple.  As luck had it, we found a house with a little detached shed which we turned into a studio.  Originally, we wanted to start with a different series of prints, e.g. dinosaurs, bugs, flowers, etc.  We started with 3 birds, then came another idea and another and now we are up to 22 bird prints!

The name beethings started because of Jeff’s nickname for me, bee, and all my little goodies around the house.  He always says our house is full of beethings.

SB:  What’s your favorite part about being a graphic artist?

Shay:  My favorite part about being a graphic designer is the variety of projects we are fortunate to be handed.  Whether it’s to design a poster, illustrate a graphic or direct a photo shoot.  And of course the environment and the people at the job.  I would make a terrible accountant, UPS driver or politician.  My back up profession would be rock star.

SB:  Where do you find inspiration?

Shay:  I know it’s cliche, but I find inspiration everywhere!  If I had to narrow it down, I’d say blogs, magazines, travel, music, books, film and my talented friends and family.

 

Thanks Shay!

-xoxo, Jill.

2 Responses to “3 Questions for Bee Things”


  1. 1 shayO November 17, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    thank you so much for all the kind words! jeff and i love your blog! xoxo

  2. 2 Stephanie Stevens November 25, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    I love their work! I saw them at Jingle Bash and bought some great pieces!! I highly recommend the calendar for great gifts!! I cannot wait to get a few more of their things! Not to mention that they are very sweet and easy to work with!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos


