What if Wednesday: Food Photography Follow-Up

Margherita Pizza

As promised in last week’s food photography post – a few of my shots as I’m working on my skills. As mentioned, food photography can be quite difficult – so far my biggest frustration is how shiny everything looks – I really don’t use as much oil as each of these pics would suggest. I think this has to do with the light I’m shooting in – the most repeated tip I’ve heard is that I need to shoot in natural daylight. As of yet, I haven’t figured out how to actually be home to cook when it’s still light out (darn daylight savings!)

Skirt steak, crisp roasted potatoes and sauteed spinach

I am happy with my camera upgrade…the Canon G11. With it’s low light setting have even been able to capture some decent shots at night. I say decent lightly…the good news is everything has tasted better than it looks onscreen.

prep work

The potatoes were a hit – we used a Cook’s Illustrated parboil technique before roasting them in the oven. Mmmmm…

xoxo, Jill.

1 Response to “What if Wednesday: Food Photography Follow-Up”


  1. 1 joshuaadelaide March 9, 2010 at 12:41 am

    The key considerations for food shots include the angle of the dish, the dish composition, and that the room in which picture is being taken has a good amount of light.
    Visit us at Photography Adelaide and find lots of great tips and advices about this great hobby. Visit us now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

