Marfa, Texas

Well, I can cross one town off my list!  I finally made the loooong journey to Marfa and enjoyed experiencing life in a small town again.  Friendly folks, beautiful scenery – the clearest night sky I’ve seen in years.  It was lovely and relaxing.  A few of my faves:

Food Shark.  An amazing food experience too cool to miss.  A food truck, a converted bus as a dining car plus the most amazing food in town.  Marfalafel.  Pork Tenderloin Salad.  Peanut Butter cookies.  yummmmm.

Wool & Hoop.  A cuter than cute craft shop dedicated to crewelwork and other types of embroidery.  Run by the ever-so-gracious Katherine Shaughnessy who wrote this lovely book full of easy to follow how-to’s and inspiring, modern patterns.  I am slowly becoming obsessed.  The texture and rich colors are definitely swoon-worthy.

A building, land, sunset and agave.

That’s a quick tour of my Marfa faves.  Stop by and say howdy yourself sometime.

Check out the rest of my photographs here.

xoxo, jill.

23 Responses to “Marfa, Texas”


  1. 1 Slamdunk December 29, 2009 at 10:14 am

    It looks like a great place to stop the next time I am out that way. Great sunset photo and the “Food Shark” looks like a fun lunch experience.

  2. 2 IQBAL SELVAN December 29, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Awesome post….. Photos are nice and cool…..

    See me @ http://yazhuspages.blogspot.com/

    @ http://wp.me/KkRf

  3. 3 poverty_dieter December 29, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Texas is so freaking huge, that I’ve never found myself with enough spare time away from work and life to make the long haul down to Marfa. I live north of Dallas and Fort Worth.

    Marfa’s on my list of places to visit for sure.Thanks for the lovely photos!

  4. 4 denise December 29, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I’m so intrigued by this place and I didn’t even know about Food Shark or Wool & Hoop. I will be there one day…I will.

  5. 5 jingle December 29, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Wool hoop, what lovely words,
    clean air is vital, sharing is caring,
    Happy New Year!

  6. 6 SallyK December 29, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Small towns are so much fun – most have at least one fun craft shop and a good restaurant. Marfa looks like a great place to visit. North Coast Muse @ http://sally1029.wordpress.com

  7. 7 a writin' fool December 29, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Cool photos! I’m itching to see that part of Texas, stark but beautiful. A tad different from New Hampshire.

  8. 8 graceshaker December 29, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    i spent 2 yrs in alpine which is less than half an hr from marfa. the area is sparse but some of the most beautiful landscapes ive ever seen surround it. ive been back in the dfw metro for 6 months and theres not a day goes by i dont wish i were still in the big bend.

    marfa had a great little bookstore with an art exhibit area. they always had some nifty stuff in there. i enjoyed the saturday market when i was able to go. such interesting people selling their crafts and produce.

    north of marfa in ft davis there is the mcdonald observatory whose star parties open up the universe while the drive from marfa south to presidio is full of grand vistas and after turning east onto fm 170 heading toward terlingua and big bend national park the views are simply unparalleled.

    • 9 jill December 29, 2009 at 4:05 pm

      The book store was fantastic! And the stars and Marfa lights from the observatory were stunning. I’m looking forward to a return trip soon. Thanks for all the comments friends!

  9. 10 Croneandbearit December 29, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    I love small towns and Marfa looks like a fun place to visit if I ever get down that way! Like your blog! Cheers.

  10. 11 methesnake December 29, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    I loved this! Such a great slice of Americana.

  11. 12 KE December 29, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Definitely a fun weekend!
    The photos are great!

  12. 13 komincents December 29, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    I have traveled all over the USA and have been through Marfa. Such a big country…I never seem to get tired of the back roads and small towns. Great images, thanks for sharing.

  13. 14 thewordofme December 29, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Did you stay long enough to see the “Marfa Lights?”

  14. 16 thewordofme December 30, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Hi Jill, thanks for reply.

    I have never been to Marfa myself, but years ago I happened to run across a female author that wrote murder mysteries that revolved around the town and it features and inhabitants. Good stories as I remember, but she only wrote about 5 or 6 of them. The lights were featured in several of the stories and that was how I learned of them. I don’t remember the authors name but I’m sure a little searching on the net will bring it up.

    Google has cataloged a number of sites that talk of the lights and the possible explanation for them. Great thing about the internet…sharing experiences and thoughts. 🙂

    Have a great new-year.

    twom

  15. 17 Mike December 30, 2009 at 2:18 am

    long live Food Shark!

  16. 19 Vicky December 30, 2009 at 3:19 am

    I too made the journey to Marfa. Check out my blog, Travels with Cookie at http://www.vfernr.wordpress.com. Look for “I Shaved My Legs for This?” Must scroll down many entries. Thanks I enjoyed this.

  17. 20 gisan pls55ne December 30, 2009 at 5:55 am

    Have a great new year !! I love this article !!

  18. 21 mereindallas December 31, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Photos are great!

  19. 22 carrie January 2, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    What a great place. I must get out there and visit it. Thanks for sharing!

  20. 23 Hortensia January 7, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Great pictures!! I’ve been to Marfa twice but I don’t remember it being so darn cute!! I must put this on my 2010 travel list.


Leave a Reply

Categories

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

