Happy 2010!

via Polaroids and Pinholes

Wow!  What a year 2009 has been – it literally passed by in the blink of an eye leaving me feeling at once exhilarated and restless.  Exhilarated with all that I was lucky enough to accomplish and experience this year  – restless with the unfinished someday list that will roll over to 2010. I’m dedicating 2010 to crafting a more fulfilling and well balanced life.  Dedicating my time and energy to people, projects and things that make me happy, fulfilled and inspired.

In making my list, I was struck by how much I’m looking forward to the upcoming year…and how the simple joys (a home cooked meal, spending time with loved ones, practicing your craft) can make one so happy.  In the past year, there have been so many reminders of why life is difficult and many things to fret over – but in the end, most of these worrisome events are beyond control.  I choose to focus instead on why life is precious and how grateful I am to be here to experience it all.

2010 List

*Practice photography.  Food and otherwise through a daily photo assignment.  Follow my progress here.

*Host a simple dinner party monthly with some inspiration from Smitten Kitchen, Orangette and Alice Waters.

*Less stress, more time to relax, reflect and refresh.  Includes yoga at my favorite Dallas studio, writing in my gratitude journal (thanks Leslee!) and more time outside.

*Monthly craft creations.  Motivational inspiration from the Martha Stewart crafts dept, and a few of my favorite blogs – Poppytalk, Creature Comforts. Anyone want to join me in a monthly craft assignment this year?  Sewing household beauties, printing on fabric and making letterpress cards are on the line-up so far.

*Continue to evolve The Someday Blog and my writing style.  I have so enjoyed (finally!) starting this blog this year – and am looking forward to more writing in 2010.  I’m so grateful for those of you who’ve stopped by in 2009 – and especially for those of you who’ve stuck around and become regular readers.  Thank you for reading, commenting and sending notes – it’s so nice to hear from you!  To help me continue to define this blog, I’d like to hear from you  (please, pretty, pretty, please!!)  What do you love reading about?  What do you want more of from these pages?  What do you want less of from these pages?  Leave a comment on this post – or send an email to:  thesomedayblog @ gmail.com.

What’s on your 2010 list?  Whatever it is – I’m hoping it brings you happiness, peace and wonderful experiences.

I’m heading to Oklahoma for a long weekend tomorrow – see you back here on Monday for more someday fun.

Happy New Year!

xoxo, jill.

7 Responses to “Happy 2010!”


  1. 1 LM December 30, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Yeah monthly dinner parties!

  2. 2 bareINTR January 3, 2010 at 12:39 am

    two of the items on your lists are similar to mine! i started a daily photo project (which i call ‘project 365: 2010) and i have my calendar stored at http://shuttercal.com/calendar/bear/
    you should check out the website; it’s a wonderful photo community.

    also similar is that i am striving to complete (key word: ‘complete’) a crafty project a week!

    i will be looking forward to seeing your progress on your monthly craft creations!

  3. 3 Renee January 4, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    i want very similar things for 2010-happy new year! i’m up for a month craft project! 🙂


  1. 1 yumm…. « The Someday Blog Trackback on January 18, 2010 at 8:13 am
  2. 2 March Craft Project « The Someday Blog Trackback on March 23, 2010 at 8:06 am
  3. 3 2010 Life List in Progress « The Someday Blog Trackback on July 14, 2010 at 8:01 am
  4. 4 Flying and Life Lists « The Someday Blog Trackback on September 2, 2010 at 8:08 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos


