cooked: shrimp + grits

Happy Wednesday!  I’m so excited to share last night’s cooking adventure with you.  Not only was it super simple + quick (less than 20 minutes chop to table) but was also really yummy.  I usually shy away from cooking shrimp and now that I’ve made this- I’m not quite sure why.  It was very simple to prepare and a very speedy weeknight meat meal.  
It was also my first experience at cooking grits – and again, not sure why it’s taken me so long to try this.  Boil water, add grits, dump in cheese.

According to my husband, anything made with bacon can’t be bad or bad for you.  After seeing the amount of grease in the bacon, I have to say I disagree.  I did drain the bacon before adding the shrimp…

The shrimp cooked in under 6 minutes along with a couple of tomatoes, the bacon and some pepper.

Smoky Shrimp and Grits adapted from Real Simple

Ingredients:

1 lb peeled, deveined shrimp
4 slices bacon, roughly chopped
2 plum tomatoes, chopped
2 scallions, chopped
1 cup grits
1 cup grated cheese

Preparation:

1.  Bring 2 cups water to boil.  Add grits, reduce heat to low and cover for 5 minutes.  Add dash garlic salt, pepper and 1 cup cheese.
2.  Brown bacon over medium-high heat.  Drain fat if necessary.  Add shrimp, tomatoes.  Cook until shrimp are opaque 3 – 5 minutes.
3.  Serve shrimp over grits, sprinkle scallions on top.

I’ll definitely be on the lookout for more shrimp recipes to add to the rotation.  Have a recipe you’d like to share?  Email me @ thesomedayblog@gmail.com

xoxo, jill.

0 Responses to “cooked: shrimp + grits”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos


