Found Friday: Spring Must Haves (for him)

Last week’s spring must have fashion round-up, inspired my friend John to call me on the fact that I need to give the dudes equal time.  And while I can’t quite promise equal, I did think it worthy to dedicate at least one post to what you or your guys should be wearing (and buying) this season.  There’s actually quite a few items that I’m excited to see being worked back into fashion…and (fingers crossed) hoping they find their way into my husband’s closet this season.  And dudes, never fear – if you do buy these items, they’re classic enough to stay in your fashion rotation for several years to come.

authentic boat shoes.

I love this pair from Sperry Top-Sider, the original creator (circa 1935) of this look is making it cool again.  They’re perfect paired with jeans, shorts – really anything for spring and into summer.

anything utility or military inspired.

Just as in women’s, military is influencing all things fashion right now.  Whether it’s the color – from rich khakis or lodens, to details of flap pockets, metal buttons – it’s big and here to stay.  You’ll find lots of great options in shirts, polos and bottoms from any of your favorite brands – a few of my faves:  j.crew, lands end’s canvas line, old navy.

colorful plaids

I’m loving all the color men are sporting this season…a break from a sea of blue and white, I’ve been seeing a lot of pink, orange and even purple.  The featured one above is from Fossil (and I’m biased because they’re also my employer) but they do men’s woven shirts and plaids really well.  Again, the usual round-up of brands will also have a great selection of these, and guys:  do not fear the color.

the classic polo.

And of course, no spring round-up would be complete without the ubiquitous pique polo.  This is one of my favorite places to see men step out with their color choice.  I love the classic branded options from Lacoste or Ralph Lauren.

statement shades

The perfect accessories can update your entire look…the classic wayfarer or aviator sunglasses are my go-to recommendation for any guy (or girl:) wanting to update his look for spring.

So, guys – anything I’ve missed that you’re wanting to wear this spring?  And a special shout out to my friend John for the wonderful post idea…

xoxo, jill.

8 Responses to “Found Friday: Spring Must Haves (for him)”


  1. 1 johnd April 9, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Well done Jill 🙂 – the only item I think I’m lacking would be a decent polo. Time to refresh – oh, and I think a desert boot is also in play.

    Have you been to the Sperry store in Northpark? We just opened the first five stores in the past month…

  2. 5 Lynn Rinderle April 9, 2010 at 9:44 am

    my must have is the guy wearing the pink shirt! LOL!

    Seriously, I love the pics; expecially the plaid shirt. Good taste Jill!
    Hugs,
    Lynn

  3. 6 Suzanna April 11, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Jill — you made Matt’s day! He bought some Sperry’s about a month ago. He was super excited when I showed him your list of “must haves.”

    Hope you guys are doing well. Love the blog!

    Suzanna

  4. 8 izziedarling April 12, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Great list; would ditch the plaid shirt, but otherwise, perfect!


Leave a Reply

Categories

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

