Feather Shadow Box

Happy Friday friends!  I got inspired last night to create a simple feather shadow box for our home.  I love to use shadow boxes to highlight eclectic curio displays.  They can be changed quickly – depending on your latest obsession and are so simple and easy to create.  In this one, I used various feathers and some old stamps.

I purchased these feathers at a store in Austin, but I’ve also started collecting them on my morning walks so I can do a few more pieces.  I’m sure my neighbors think I’m insane always scavenging about…I like the variance in size and stripes…I used the West Elm Shadow Box, but you can find your own at any craft store.  I chose this one because the natural linen was a nice backdrop to the neutral pieces.  I used hot glue to apply the feathers – sorry no photos…not enough hands.  And I’d be lying if I told you this took any longer than 15 minutes to put together.  Simple.  Gratifying.  And still had time to sip my tea and write you this post.

In case you missed it this week:

I’m loving kilim accents in the home, aren’t you?
Summer is here and I can’t wait to have my first patio party.
Stop by Hello, Splendor to see my black and cream spin on summer fashion!
Amy Butler has teamed up with Graham & Brown on her first wallpaper line!
And this week’s Etsy find:  Vintage apothecary jars.

Happy Weekend lovelies!

xoxo, jill.

2 Responses to “Feather Shadow Box”


  1. 1 heather j June 25, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Your feather shadow box looks great. Those are really pretty feathers and I like the addition of the stamps. Thanks for sharing.


  1. 1 Feather DIY « the nook Trackback on July 1, 2010 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos


