Hopelessly Addicted to Hipstamatic

I’m become slightly obsessed with my new Hipstamatic iPhone appSlightly to the point that my husband rolls his eyes each time I snap a new pic.  And I agree – it’s becoming a bit of a distraction in that I’m looking at everything thinking ‘what lens should i use to shoot that?’  Hmmm.  At only $1.99 for the starter pack, and then additional lenses/ flashes you can add as you go – it’s become my favorite app EVER.  yes, that’s right.  it even beats words with friends in my book.


Anyhow, I wanted to find out as much as I could about this camera – it’s story, who designed it and if I could recreate it’s lovely vintage haziness through a photoshop technique.

First up – the story.  The hipstamatic was created by Bruce and Winston Dorbowski, in a small lakeside cabin in Wisconsin.  Their idea was to produce a small, plastic camera that would cost less than the film it used and based their concept on a Russian plastic camera Bruce had received as a Christmas gift.  In November 1982, the brothers had their first Hipstamatic mold.  They went on to make only 157 of these beauties, before they were met with an untimely death in the summer of 1984.  Read here for the full story as told by their brother Richard.


So then, I wanted to learn more about what I could do with my new favorite app.  There are over 300 possible options you can use to take photos (6 lens + 7  flash + 8 film) – wow!  The fab folks over at Photojojo have been so kind as to take the same exact photo in ALL 336 combinations here!  Thank you PJ!  I knew I loved you guys… By the way, if you’re photo obsessed like I am, they offer a twice-a-week newsletter that keeps you plugged into the photography scene.  Sign up for free here.

Next up, I wanted to see how I could go about recreating this look using some simple Photoshop plug-in.  I found this comprehensive round-up of Photoshop plug-ins from Smashing Magazine and downloaded a few to play with.  My favorite so far is Omar’s Photoshop Photography Action Set.  I used it on this peony to achieve the beautiful, vintage look.  Not quite Hipstamatic, but still interesting.  Another I like is Polaroid Generator, which again produces Polaroid-esque photos.  To my dismay, there doesn’t seem to be a Hipstamatic action that’s exists yet – someone please comment if you find one!

To get your daily fix, check out the Hipstamatic Flickr Group.

Happy Snapping!

xoxo, jill.


2 Responses to “Hopelessly Addicted to Hipstamatic”


  1. 1 Johnd July 6, 2010 at 10:06 am

    you should shoot a catalog just using hipstamatic…ha

    the Camerabag app is also nice


  1. 1 2010 Life List in Progress « The Someday Blog Trackback on July 14, 2010 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos


