DIY: Yarn Wrapped Branch

I spent much of the past weekend getting my house guest ready for the holidays…hanging pictures, getting rid of clutter we had accumulated and a touch of decorating.

I had picked up this branch on my fall trip to Broken Bow and couldn’t decide what I was going to use it for.  Until I ran across some gold yarn I had picked up for a crewel project that’s still unfinished. So I thought – quick, easy DIY.  So easy in fact, I’m a bit embarrassed to post directions…but anywho.  Any branch or yarn would work – one without the pinecones would be a bit easier, and just as pretty.  I picked the crewel yarn for it’s color, and also for it’s texture – it’s a bit more lofty than other yarns, so has a nice cozy feel – perfect for fall. I’ve seen other variations online that mix several colors of yarn, but for me – I prefer the modern look of one bold color.

To start, I secured one end of the yarn to the branch with some heavy duty tape…which gets wrapped over and over, so it’s never seen.  I would have preferred hot glue, but my gun bit the dust on my last craft project and I’ve yet to replace it.

I tried a variety of wrapping techniques…starting out using a single thread and wrapping many times around.  But as I got going, I experimented with using two sets of two threads to cover more area a bit more quickly.  To end each section, I would simply knot the ends and cut them off as close as possible.

Some sections I double wrapped, which went a bit slower than the above, but was easier to maneuver.  To start, I would use a slip knot so the yarn stayed in place…this was a helpful way to also hide the knots.

Don’t worry if bits of the bark fall off, I lost quite a bit – but in the end you will never miss them!

And done!  I left the tips exposed because I liked the juxtaposition of the bark and yarn, but feel free to end yours wherever you feel!  A quick, inexpensive, cute holiday home project.

4 Responses to “DIY: Yarn Wrapped Branch”


  1. 1 mrscummingsrx November 22, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    oh i LOVE this! really unique idea 🙂 thanks!

  2. 2 Kelly November 22, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Super cute idea! Thanks for sharing!

  3. 3 Jenny November 24, 2010 at 11:48 am

    Love the way this turned out sister! So pretty.

  4. 4 BC November 27, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    jill i LOVE this idea … so clever … and colorful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

